Self-Appraisal: Keeping Your Career Focused

One of the most important steps in the cycle of becoming a better CIO is conducting a  self-appraisal.

I read this story in an online forum. It was posted anonymously. It drives home the point that we all need to perform self-appraisals of ourselves periodically.

A young boy went into a drug store, reached for a soda carton and pulled it over to the telephone. He climbed onto the carton so that he could reach the buttons on the phone and dialed a phone number.

The store-owner observed and listened to the conversation:

Boy: “Lady, can you give me the job of cutting your lawn?”

Woman: “I already have someone to cut my lawn.”

Boy: “Lady, I will cut your lawn for half the price of the person who cuts your lawn now.”

Woman: “I’m very satisfied with the person who is presently cutting my lawn.”

Boy: (with more perseverance): “Lady, I’ll even sweep your curb and your sidewalk, so on Sunday you will have the prettiest lawn on your street.”

Woman: “No, thank you.”

With a smile on his face, the little boy replaced the receiver. The store-owner who heard the conversation walked over to the boy.

Store Owner: “Son, I like your attitude. I like your positive spirit and I would like to offer you a job.”

Boy: “No thanks.”

Store Owner: “But you were really pleading for a job with that lady.”

Boy: “No Sir, I was just checking my performance at the job I already have. I am the one who is working for that lady I was talking to!”

Here are some basic questions to ask yourself to conduct your own self-appraisal:

Define your significant accomplishments:

  • What are my specific accomplishments?
  • What critical abilities does my job require? To what extents did I fulfill them?
  • What value have I added to my department or to the business?

Define your personal growth:

  • What new skills have I attained this year?
  • What new skills have I helped others gain?

Define obstacles you encountered:

  • Is there anything that I do that hinders my effectiveness?
  • What knowledge, skills, or abilities am I lacking to perform my job?

Describe areas that need attention and plans for improvement:

  • Which goals or standards did I fall short of meeting?
  • How could I become more productive?
  • How can more experience or training be accomplished?
Please leave a comment

