Coping

I am starting to hear better news about the job market loosing up a bit for executives. In fact, in recent days I have been getting calls from recruiters. So there seems to be movement forward.

One of the discussions that I have not written about is related to coping with being out-of-work. I started a recent dialogue with another CIO on the west coast who is also out-of-work. The topic of depression came up. I wondered for a period if I were depressed. My wife asked me constantly and I started to doubt myself. Was I really depressed? I did some inner reflection and I discovered that I really was not.

I was just bored. I spent over 11 years in the corporate world. Politics, stress, pressure, long hours gave me purpose. Without it, I now felt empty and wanted to get back into the corporate goo. I am a workaholic by nature and I needed that constant drive towards something to keep me going. You might say, why not take up a hobby to occupy yourself? Well I have. Golf, gardening, blogging, and home improvement projects, have filled my time and kept me busy. However, being busy is no substitute for steady work. The days become tedious and you are constantly trying to fill your schedule with tasks. Besides there is only so much golf you can play or roses you can prune before even that becomes boring.

There is nothing I can do about the job situation except keep doing what I am doing. I hope that will change soon. In the meantime, I am using this time to enjoy my family, do some volunteer work, exercise and enjoy myself. At least by keeping busy I am keeping my mind active and thinking. I know that when I do go back to work I will be putting in long hours. Therefore, I am treating this time preciously.

2 thoughts on “Coping

  1. Arun, you are so right–being busy is not a substitute for working. While I have struggled with the same issues as you, I think we have both found things to do to be “useful” and productive. Publishing the blogs, writing white papers, public speaking, networking, and even volunteer work–these are all good things that, while satisfying now, also have the potential to pay dividends down the road. Hang in there and glad we have connected!

    • Don,
      Thanks for the comment. For all the other executives out of work (CIOs, CEOs, etc) hang in there. While keeping busy is not a substitute for steady work it does keep your mind active and fresh. By keeping busy it keeps you from dwelling on not having a job and looking for one.

Please leave a comment

