A Tablet From Apple?

Why is it that before a product is release there are already critics? Or is it some conspiracy to defame a product so that it can be killed by word of mouth alone before it hits the market.

This week, there have been rumors that Apple is investigating tablets. These rumors suggests evidence that Apple could be considering launching a tablet or netbook form factor in the relatively near future, with 2010 being the most likely timeframe for an introduction.

Tablets and netbooks are not new to the industry. There have been several unsuccessful past attempts that never caught on.

I remember a few years back, when the iPhone was rumored to be in development there were critics that said it would never work and there was no market for such a device. Well look at the iPhone today.

I have an iPhone 3G. And to be honest, I rarely use it as a phone. I use it more as a PDA-if that term is still used, if not I like mobile computing device or MCD. I use my iPhone to check my email, Twitter, read my news, give me directions, play the occasional game and search the net. It is always on and ready for me. I don’t have to think about it. And isn’t that the purpose of any MCD. The end user should not have to worry about it.

If Apple is truly developing a tablet device, I am all for it. To be able to have an “always on” device connected to the Internet 24×7 is great. Knowing Apple, if this rumor is true, it will be revolutionary. So let’s wait and see what the final product will be and how it will function before we pass judgment.

One thought on “A Tablet From Apple?

Please leave a comment

