My Friday Post: Man Knowledge

It’s Friday. As CIOs clear down their inboxes and tie up loose ends before the weekend, it is time to take a break…

My wife and I recent remodeled our master bedroom. As a result, we have decided to replace our 15-year-old 27” Sony Trinitron CRT television. It is a great TV and still works perfectly. The problem is it takes up so much space in our bedroom. So we have decided to purchase a new sexy LCD  flat screen.

My wife likes to poll others to get their ideas about such things much to my dismay. She still does not think I can purchase anything with a computer chip. Ironic, since I had discretionary spending on a multi-million dollar IT budget. Interesting how wives treat their husbands. 😉

Once the word went out that we were in the market, every male in a 100-mile radius decided to give his opinion (mind you it was not asked for) on what television we should buy. It amazes me what interests the male ape, considering that I am also one. Why are we (males that is) so fascinated with all things technical? The slightest interest in a car, home theater systems or anything with a hum or pulsing red light is met with unadulterated giddiness. “You have to look at this, you have to go bigger, you need this option.”

As I sift through the multiple emails of reviews from guys who have bought a television and feel that their knowledge surpasses everyone, I cannot help but wonder, “Why are we like this when it comes to technical gadgets?”

P.S. After ignoring what people had to say, I did my own research and purchased a Toshiba 42” LCD television. I got a great deal on it. I am happy with my decision…And even more important, my wife likes it as well. 🙂

One thought on “My Friday Post: Man Knowledge

Please leave a comment

