Brothers and Sisters: When Our Peers Need Help

There is no doubt that this last year has been hard on us all. Unemployment is still at an all time high. Companies are still in a “wait-n-see” mode. The future still looks bleak.

Over the course of writing this blog, I have been in contact with at least 25 IT people who have been out of work. Some have been out work for 3 or more months while others, like myself, have been out of work for a year. Some were former CIOs, CTOs, MDs, SVPs, managers, and administrators. All lost their jobs through downsizing and cost cutting.

I had a recent conversation with a manager who was let go 6 months ago and was struggling to pay his bills and support his family. I wish I were in a position to offer him a job. Instead, I offered him access to my network on LinkedIn and other peer networking groups I am affiliated with. I hope things work out for him.

As IT professionals it is our responsibility and duty to look after each other. If you are in a position to help others please do so. Your kindness will go a long way in helping others.

3 thoughts on “Brothers and Sisters: When Our Peers Need Help

  1. Am glad someone spoke (blogged!) up about it Arun. It’s a small world, and in IT, it’s an even smaller world. So it really makes sense to follow the Golden Rule here.

    Just a couple of examples here in Asia/HK that illustrates this. My ex-Regional IT Director boss’s brother is the CFO of a technology company which was introduced to me from one of my technology partners. I’d been looking into them as a potential technology provider. A PM job seeker looking to get back into functional IT was introduced to me by way of one of my church friends. Yet another small world moment, came at a CIO conference where one of the delegates’ company was using a software development outsourcing firm who’s new Chief Service Officer was my ex-boss/hiring manager 4 years ago. We found out about it over the sponsored luncheon and we sat at the same table talking about something totally unrelated.

    What goes around comes around. We should all lend a hand.

    Cheers,

  2. Lui and Arun: You both make good points. It really does make sense to “pay it forward.” I competed with a colleague this past summer (we didn’t know we were competing at the time) for an Interim CIO position; when it became clear that I was not the right fit for the position, I offered a few names to the hiring manager for people he might want to talk to, including my colleague. He ended up getting the job! My feeling is that it is better for someone I know to get the position even if I don’t.

    Lui: You mention that Asia/HK region. I would be interested in hearing more about your experience in that area. I am slowly increasing my understanding of the area (I have visited HK and Thailand a number of times in the last few years, in addition to Vietnam) and am hoping to grow my IT advisory/interim CIO business in the region.

    -Don

Please leave a comment

