ReBoot: Ever Have An Off Day?

A CIO's VoiceIt’s Friday…

Have you ever had an off day? A Day when nothing seems to go right? I had one, earlier this week. Maybe I got up on the wrong side of the bed or my stars were out of alignment. I don’t really know…

My Tuesday started like any other day. I woke up around 6 and watch CNN for a little bit. I was feeling a little strange, like I was someplace else. I passed it off to the morning shock of waking up.

I went to make breakfast and started dropping things on the floor: a butter knife, a plastic bowl, and my bagel. Nothing broken but too many things falling. I still couldn’t shake that feeling; maybe I needed a cup of coffee.

I had to see a friend that morning. So I got in my car and headed to his home. On my way there, I had to hit the brakes a few times to stop quickly. I had a hard time focusing. So I drove below the speed limit and kept several cars lengths between the next car and me.

While there I was having a hard time setting up his computer. Pretty routine stuff for me but I just had to focus really hard. The feeling of not really being there was just weighing on me now.

On my way back home, I again had to slam on the brakes as I barely missed being involved in a three-car accident. This was too much for me. What was happening?

As I made dinner that night, again I was dropping things: a spoon, a plate, and my fork and this time I spilled my drink. That was the final straw. I decided to call it a day and head to bed.

Strange. Bizarre. Twilight Zone-ish. Who knows? Maybe I was some place else…or it was just all in my mind. I think I just needed a reboot. 🙂

2 thoughts on “ReBoot: Ever Have An Off Day?

Please leave a comment

