ReBoot: On the Fringe

A CIO's VoiceIt’s Friday…

Okay, I’m a geek. I admit it. I grew up watching Start Trek and Star Wars and love all things techie. One of my favorite shows to watch growing up were reruns of The Twilight Zone. Who can forget the fear you faced when you first saw “Nightmare At 20000 Feet” and the gremlin appearing in the window. Looking back, the special effects were a little hokey but when I was a kid it scared me to death.

I then became a fan boy of X-Files and the adventures of Mulder and Scully. I got really into it especially regarding the aliens and conspiracies. It made for good television. In the end, it got a little tiresome. The plots became unbelievable even for me and I think the show had over stayed it’s welcome in the end.

Now Fox has Fringe (http://www.fox.com/fringe/index.htm). Similar to X-Files and TZ, Fringe explores the unexplained phenomena and terrifying occurrences linked throughout the world – known simply as “The Pattern”. Similar to X-Files, the characters are in pursuit of a larger, more shocking truth. Through unconventional and unorthodox methods, the FRINGE team imagines and tests the impossibilities while investigating unbelievable events, macabre crimes, and mystifying cases involving pyrokinesis, neuroscience, cryonics, genetic engineering, astral projection, and other fantastical theories. When the unimaginable happens, it’s their job to stop it.

Of course the FBI is involved again. I am not sure why the FBI is the only department that gets involved in strange happenings throughout the country and not some other department.  Maybe someone could fill me in on that?

Fringe is the X-Files for a new generation of viewers who want to understand the science or the possibility of the science behind strange events.

Let’s see if Fox can keep us glued to episodes. So far they are doing a good job. Even my wife likes to watch episodes and finds the characters and plots interesting.

Please leave a comment

