The Rule of Three

To some extent I am a pretty easy going CIO. I hire the best and expect the best from them. I give my staff the freedom to work and set their own deadlines. I don’t micromanage but when it comes to my priorities I follow my ‘Rule of Three’.

Rule 1 – I ask nicely for something to be completed. You tell me when I can expect it to be completed and I will wait for the deadline.

Rule 2 – You miss you deadline and now I am little annoyed. I ask for a revised deadline but now I hover and want it completed.

Rule 3 – You miss the second deadline and now I am mad. I make sure you know it!

Priorities are simple – The boss’s priorities are your priorities. When he asks for something to be completed he wants it completed.

Please leave a comment

