Portable GPS Units Review – Magellan Roadmate 1440

A CIO's VoiceMy TomTom One died on me last weekend, just as I needed it. Isn’t that just like technology?

Because I have started a new job I felt I needed to get something in my car. While my iPhone Google maps works great, it is a hassle to use while driving, especially when I am alone.

So my wife talked about getting a new one. Price was especially important. We paid about $140 for our TomTom 3 years ago. It worked great until this year when we started having problems charging it.

I looked online at the usually reviews. TomTom still got the highest rating in customer satisfaction. I didn’t want to deal with the hassles of plugging it into my computer every so often to update.

The features my wife and I wanted were:

  1. Voice directions
  2. Access to AAA ratings.
  3. Big screen
  4. Easy to plug in addresses or zip codes

We went to Walmart and Sears to look at various units. TomTom, Garmin, and Magellan all caught our eye. We decided to go to BJ Wholesale and say the Magellan Roadmate 1440 (http://www.magellangps.com/products/product.asp?segID=354&prodID=2175) which had all the features we wanted. In addition, there was a sale going on so we were able to get the unit for $120.

I have been using the device now for a few days. I must admit I am pretty impressed. It was easy to use and the voice directions were clear and accurate.

Overall I am pretty satisfied with my purchased. Maybe in 3 years, technology will march on and I will upgrade again.

1 thought on “Portable GPS Units Review – Magellan Roadmate 1440

  1. Reasonably piece of content. I just stumbled upon your blog as well as wanted to express that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post back again rapidly.

Please leave a comment