“Talk amongst yourselves…”

It’s funny; the hardest thing I do during my day is manage staff. It encompasses the bulk of my time and is where most of my energy is spent.

As I transition the department, from what it was to what it should be. I am encountering some bad practices.  One of the bad habits that I am seeing is the lack of communication among my staff. It is not horrible, but it definitely could be better.

I have tried to get to the root of the problem, but trying to explain that there needs to be better, more open discussions is easier said than done.

Personalities play an important part in how staff communicates among each other. Some people are just natural introverts while others are the opposite. Getting staff to talk takes time and effort. As leaders we have to set the example and create the forum for staff to be able to perform this task.

Please leave a comment